Come see me this weekend at the Chicago Zine Fest!

czfSo you might have noticed that content got reallllly slow on the blog (and maybe even on the Facebook page!) over the past month or so.  I have a good excuse for that. It’s because I was getting ready for the Chicago Zine Fest!  (And also working, and training for an ultra, and generally having a life away from my computer…you know, things like that.)

For those of you who are not aware of what a zine is, a definition from ZineWiki:

A zine – pronounced zeen – derived from magazine – is an independently- or self-published booklet, often created by a single person. Zines are customarily created by physically cutting and gluing text and images together onto a master flat for photocopying, but it is also common to produce the master by typing and formatting pages on a computer. The end product is usually folded and stapled. Zines can be printed and bound in any manner.

Why am I doing this?  Well, I’ve been making zines for about twelve years now, which is way longer than I had this blog, than I have worked as a professional journalist, than I have even been a runner for crying out loud.  It’s kind of a big part of who I am, although my involvement tends to ebb and flow depending on what’s going on in my life.

I will be in Chicago from Thursday through Sunday for the Chicago Zine Fest, where I will be participating as an invited guest (which is, by the way, a huge honor). On Friday, I will be reading from one of my essays at the Exhibitor Reading, which will take place at 7 p.m. at the Hairpin Arts Center, located at 2800 N Milwaukee.  On Saturday, I will be among the 200 exhibitors tabling from 11 a.m. to 6 p.m. at Columbia College, located at 1104 S. Wabash.  I’ll be on the eighth floor, surrounded by some of my favorite zine creators.

I’ll be selling back issues of my zine All I Want Is Everything, as well as two brand-new issues I put together just for the zine fest.  All I Want Is Everything #4 is mostly about my life as a journalist and a writer. The centerpiece is a monster essay I wrote about covering the 2012 Republican National Convention.  AIWIE #5 is a single essay in which I explore the complicated relationship between femininity and power in my life, and it’s illustrated with photos that I borrowed without permission from books like Venus with Biceps.  I’m pretty proud of both projects, to be honest.

I’m also going to be selling feminist fitness themed 1″ buttons, which I had a ton of fun making. Don’t worry if you can’t make it – I’ll be selling everything online soon.  I also hope to expand the kinds of merch I offer in the very near future, just because I had so much fun making the buttons so why not try my hand at other things?

I have to say, it would be worth going to CZF even if I wasn’t there. I went in 2012 and it was a remarkable experience to be in this building with all of these creative people who make art, comics and literature with a totally DIY sensibility.  I found it really inspiring, and I have to say the DIY ethic I’ve picked up from all of the other people I’ve met through zines has influenced me in a really positive and meaningful way.  So if you live in the area, stop by, say hi and maybe let some of the inspiration rub off on you!

12 responses to “Come see me this weekend at the Chicago Zine Fest!

  1. Congrats! It sounds like a lot of fun. Few things are more inspiring than rubbing brains (so to speak) with other fun, passionate, creative people.

  2. You’re one after my own heart….a zinester! I’m a failed one – coughed up all but one copy during my tenure in my school’s film club. Good to know you’re still flying the zine flag high! The next question of course is…where’s the running zine? Heh.

    • Hello, fellow zinester! I actually wrote about running in #1. It also shows up in #2 (which is a travel zine) and #5.

      And my old laptop actually had the workings of a zine about the female pioneers of distance running but then it broke and I was never able to get the content back. Boo technology. Boo!

    • Definitely. #5 is one of my new ones so there are plenty of copies to be had. I’ll post information when I get back from Chicago.

      Also Quimby’s is the best! I went there two years ago and I loved it. Hopefully we’ll have a chance to go again this year.

  3. WHYYYY did I have to be out of town this weekend?!? Damn it, Easter! I hope it went fantastically well and that you enjoyed Chicago!

Comments are closed.